The annual Spirit of Enterprise (SOE) awards ceremony took place on Oct 22 at the Mandarin Orchard Singapore. The glamourous affair was attended by over 420 guests, a guestlist which included past honourees such as Lee Soo Chye from Aequitas Law LLP, Michael Ma from Indochine Group, and Grace Chong-Tan from Smile Inc.

This year’s SOE-Nexia TS Entrepreneur of the Year award went to Thomas Fernandez, founder, chairman, and CEO of PestBusters. 32 other honourees were recognised for their accomplishments in their respective fields, These comprised local entrepreneurs from small and medium enterprises. The SOE-PropNex Top Honouree of the Year Award went to Michael Soh, managing director of Redwood Interior Pte Ltd. The SOE-Neo Start-ups Awards went to Adrian Chia and Jeff Yeo, co-founders of Big Tiny; Damian Sia, CEO of Motorist; and Debra Lam and Ryan Ng, co-founders of Society Staples.

(Related: Here are the 10 outstanding honourees on The Peak Power List 2018)

The awards were conferred by guest-of-honour Sim Ann, senior minister of state, Ministry Of Communications and Information.

During the ceremony, SOE President Sa’at Ismail announced the MOU signing with Temasek Polytechnic, aimed to ignite the entrepreneurial spirit among the young with closer collaborations, joint programmes and the sharing of resources.

(Related: Spirit of Enterprise celebrates 15th anniversary in style, 32 honourees conferred)