SCWO International Women's Day

The Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations’ (SCWO) International Women’s Day gala dinner and 6th Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame (SWHF) Induction Ceremony was held at the The St. Regis Singapore on 23 March.

In celebration of International Women’s Day, the gala dinner was attended by more than 400 guests from SCWO’s member organisations and corporate supporters. The evening was presided over by guest-of-honour and President of the Republic of Singapore, Mdm Halimah Yacob, who also launched the new Seeds of Change fund that night. The new fund, supported by the Ministry of Social and Family Development’s Office for Women’s Development, will benefit women’s organisations executing women’s development programmes.

The 6th Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony saw eight women – Evelyn Norris, Florence Chua, Gan Siow Huang, Glory Barnabas, Kandasamy Jayamani, Liew Yuen Sien, Tham Yew Chin and Zahrah Za’ba – being honoured that night. 

(Related: 7 honourees were inducted at SCWO 4th Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame)